The James Exchange
The James Exchange
What's Going on in Keene?
1
0:00
-9:35

What's Going on in Keene?

But first, a poll!
1
Transcript

No transcript...

Greetings it is Wednesday, March 28. Welcome to the James Exchange, I am your host Nancy Gill.

First results from the last poll:
What is the most difficult intersection in Scottsville?
Main & Valley: 13%
Bird & Valley: 40%
Hardware & Valley: 7%
Irish & Valley: 3%
James River & Valley: 37%

And a new one with a story. I work at Farmstead Ferments in downtown Scottsville. Every morning I work, it is my intent to sweep the sidewalk in front of the store. For some reason, this past Tuesday, there were a lot of cigarette butts on the sidewalk and in the gutter—which would bring the “butts” eventually to the James River. My poll is this:

Loading...

What is going on in Keene?

For those who travel Rt. 20 on a regular basis and have to enter from Coles Rolling Road, Esmont Road, or Plank Road this can be a challenging intersection. Plus you add in the entrance/exit from Green Mountain Store and at times things can get dicey.

Green Mountain Country Store Gets a Facelift

While checking out the zoning notice sign for a public hearing on item #69, I noticed that the Green Mountain Country Store had a new sign for their gas price. There used to be a metal sign on the grassy area between the gas pumps and Rt. 20. This is gone, and has been replaced with an updated digital sign.

While I was walking around the area, someone called Mr. Patel, owner of the store, and told him I was taking photos of his sign. As I was getting ready to drive back to Scottsville, he motioned me over. He asked me what I was doing and I told him about the James Exchange. He then asked why I didn’t come in and talk to him. I didn’t have an answer for this since I was taking photos from public areas. Everything worked out, and he then asked if I had seen the new sign on front of his store. I had not. When I returned home, I reviewed my photos and decided I did not do the sign on his building justice. So, back to Keene I went. This time I went into the store and asked if I could take better pictures. He agreed. All is well, and he serves Indian cuisine in the store. I sense I will be returning for a Punjabi burger!

The wooden sign on front of the building has been replaced with a new rendition of the old version. Gas pumps have been updated. One local resident told me how impressed he was with the improvements of this well-known country store that has been a fixture of Keene for decades.

And Across Coles Rolling Road From Green Mountain

On March 12, the Albemarle Planning Commission held a public hearing for a public garage at the intersection of Coles Rolling Road and Rt. 20/Scottsville Road. Several Keene residents spoke against the Special Use Permit SP202200026. Concerns were the area of the property to be used for a paved parking area which would serve a four-bay garage, environmental issues, and that the project doesn’t fit the Comprehensive Plan. Current zoning is “RA Rural Areas-agricultural, forestal, and fishery uses; residential density (0.5 unit/acre in development lots).” Staff Report

Conceptual plan for Shull property on the corner of Coles Rolling Road and Rt. 20 for a four-bay public garage. The gray area represents pavement.

The applicant, Thomas Shull, asked for the decision of the Planning Commission be deferred giving time for him to consider the issues and concerns residents voiced. Planning Commissioners voted unanimously to defer their decision. Had they voted in favor, the SUP would have gone to the Board of Supervisors for an additional public hearing.

Real Estate Sign Gone

For quite awhile a real estate sign North of Keene on the East side of Rt. 20 advertised a large track of land for sale. “Greenfields” has been sold. There isn’t any details on the sale yet or what may be planned for this property. We’ll stay tuned-in on this one!

Recycling Made Easy

The convenience center (not to be confused with a convenience store) is booming. Every Thursday, recycling bins are emptied with cardboard and paper the most popular. After a few months from opening, the large bin for aluminum cans was finally filled. I had to smile one day when I saw a James River Brewery “River Runner” can on top of the pile, and it was not mine! Southern Albemarle scored a win with this center being built in Keene. It is easy to access—even though it is off a busy, and dangerous intersection—and it is clean. Staff has told me that there are weeks when the household trash bin has to be emptied twice!

And While We Are Talking Trash

The Scottsville volunteers who picked up trash on March 23rd filled over 50 bags. The management team that will be running Tiger/The Market in Scottsville participated. Kudos to Tim, Alex, and Kathy for giving us a much needed helping hand!

Since it rained on the 23rd, we are going to tackle missed areas this Saturday the 30th. If you like to weed, we are going to help Jam, Scottsville’s maintenance man, by weeding the tree pits!

And One Last Thing

What would a James Exchange episode be without a Tiger/The Market photo?

I was wondering about the infrastructure for the vaccum cleaners…then once the cannisters were installed realized Scottsvillians will have 12 opportunities to clean their car’s interior!

I’ll have more on Scottsville stuff soon! And, as always, if you have a song, a story, an event, or an issue you would like to discuss, perhaps it is time for a conversation.

1 Comment
The James Exchange
The James Exchange
Living in a small town is such a relief from fast-paced city and suburban life. The James Exchange is about the people that live in and around Scottsville, Virginia.